A Bend in the Stars

  • A Boston Globe Bestseller
  • A New York Times Summer Reading Selection
  • A Summer 2019 B&N Discover Great New Writers selection
  • One of Barnes and Noble's Best Books of the Year... So far
  • #1 New Release on Amazon in Jewish Historical Fiction
  • A Globe and Mail Summer's Best Read
  • A Forbes Best Historical Novel for Summer 2019

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve relativity.

Grounded in real history—and inspired by the solar eclipse of 1914—A Bend in the Stars offers a heartstopping account of modern science’s greatest race amidst the chaos of World War I, and a love story as epic as the railways crossing Russia.

Select praise for A Bend in the Stars

"A sweeping epic that transports the reader into another era, even as the struggles of its characters feel powerfully modern and timely."

Madeline Miller, author of Circe and The Song of Achilles

"...an epic march across Russia during the summer of 1914... The history of the period and the region has been carefully studied, but Barenbaum carves a fresh story from some of its most evocative and disturbing details."

New York Times

"...a thrilling adventure"

NPR

"...A Bend in the Stars reveals our collective impotence against the whims of the universe. And yet, the characters Barenbaum brings to life demonstrate resilience in the face of prejudice, steadfastness in the face of defeat, and the ability to love even when the world has cracked with hate."

Los Angeles Review of Books

"A rousing debut. . . Fans of Kristin Hannah will enjoy Barenbaum’s exhilarating tale."

Publishers Weekly

"You immediately lose yourself in A Bend in the Stars"

Jerusalem Post

Summer's Best Books: Compulsive reads

Globe and Mail

A Must Read of the Summer!

Detroit Jewish News

"...(a) spell-binding tale ... Like the best historical fiction, Barenbaum’s novel not only shines a light on an overlooked historical moment, but also provides a new lens through which to view our own time."

NY Journal of Books
More Reviews
More Interviews