A Bend in the Stars

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve relativity.

Grounded in real history—and inspired by the solar eclipse of 1914—A Bend in the Stars offers a heartstopping account of modern science’s greatest race amidst the chaos of World War I, and a love story as epic as the railways crossing Russia.

Select praise for A Bend in the Stars

"A rousing debut. . . Fans of Kristin Hannah will enjoy Barenbaum’s exhilarating tale."

Publishers Weekly

"A romantic adventure with a neatly dovetailed ending that will appeal to fans of Kristin Hannah and Pam Jenoff."

Booklist

"A Bend in the Stars is a vivid and wrenching debut, full not only with the darkness of history but also with hope — a literary saga for fans of The Invisible Bridge and All the Light We Cannot See. Love and war and Relativity weave together seamlessly, and we're left understanding that there's more than one way for the universe to bend."

Rebecca Makkai, author of the National Book Award Finalist The Great Believers

"A sweeping epic that transports the reader into another era, even as the struggles of its characters feel powerfully modern and timely."

Madeline Miller, author of Circe and The Song of Achilles

"With the timelessness of a folk tale, the twists and turns of an adventure story, and the pleasures of a science thriller, A Bend in the Stars both fills the reader's heart and keeps it beating fast. This novel's strong gravitational pull draws you powerfully alongside Miri and Vanya in their harrowing quests, and its emotional payoff makes you never want to let them go."

Christopher Castellani, author of Leading Men

"Rachel Barenbaum's A Bend in the Stars is a beautiful thrill ride steeped in the history of Czarist Russia, from its poverty-ridden shtetls to its roaring trains, and the awesome lure of science. This is a book of history rewritten, dreams realized, and justice served-a book about relativity, war, hatred, and the weight of our assumptions and our great loves."

Michelle Hoover, author of The Quickening